Review ~ Take Me, Break Me by Cari Silverwood

17264796

Title: Take Me, Break Me

Author: Cari Silverwood

Series: Pierced Hearts #1

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge 10 synopsis

Jodie is scraping the barrel trying to stay afloat. An idea arrives that could rescue her finances and bring her together in a kinky way with a man she never gave up on. She’s terrified and fascinated, and tempted as hell.

Capture fantasies rule her eBook. Re-enacting one in a documentary would surely be irresistible viewing to millions of women?

But Jodie and Klaus discover that underneath an ordinary man dark desires may lurk. What will win in the end? The man and lover, or the monster?

Warning: Capture fantasy; dubious consent; anal play; M/f as well as one m/f/f/m scene; BDSM themes including caning, spanking, bondage, and needle play. Also contains one beginner Dom who is exploring sadism but is still working out how and when to stop.

Review

I had been sitting and talking with Kallypso Masters over dinner when she came out to the area that I livedher, myself and one other person who was able to make it to meet her were all talking about the kind of books we liked and what exactly we love about them. Everyone has their own taste in books and what they enjoy. I do not judge people by what they like although if I can find something that we both agree is good I can get lost for hours talking about books. I made comment about Kally’s book with Damian and how there is a breath play scene that was just plain hot beyond all belief and there wasn’t even any sex. We spent some time talking about that and I told her and the other woman that  I love a good dark read. I personally love capture fantasy, rape play as well as breath play. For me Edge play is just great reading as far as I am concerned. I got a message from Kally telling me about this series. She had told me she didn’t know many books that have capture fantasy in them but when she found out about this one she wanted to share. I was excited but all I was able to do at the time was add it to my to read list.

I was finally able to read it when the awesome author sent me a message and asked if I would be interested to read the first book in her series, she is in a book group I am in as well and saw that I was looking for capture fantasy reads. I jumped on that and said absolutely.

Before I get into the book I will start by saying that what bothers me more than anything else is reading reviews of books by people who do nothing but complain “I don’t know why anyone would want that to happen to them, I don’t know why any woman would ever agree to get into that type of relationship, It is abuse, It is wrong, blah blah blah…” If you are reading this story it is hard to understand HOW you wouldn’t know what you were getting into. I mean COME ON there is a warning at the end of the synopsis! Why be completely disgusted when you know what was coming for the most part? Don’t search out these types of books if they are not for youThat being said in case you are not aware… THIS BOOK MAY NOT BE FOR EVERYONE…THERE ARE THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN THIS BOOK THAT NOT EVERYONE WILL ENJOY READING. 

Warning: Capture fantasy; dubious consent; anal play; M/f as well as one m/f/f/m scene; BDSM themes including caning, spanking, bondage, and needle play. Also contains one beginner Dom who is exploring sadism but is still working out how and when to stop.

About this bookoverall I did enjoy it. I wasn’t so sure there at the beginning though. I was trying to figure out what was going on. There was this idea Jodie has that she could make money on doing a documentary on the whole capture fantasy that so many women have. Klaus (an ex of hers) agrees reluctantly because he doesn’t want her to find some random person to do it and possibly hurt her. There is an agreement and a contract, a list of rules and what not as well. And don’t get me wrong, I completely understand that this is something that has to be determined beforehand (safe, sane & consentual) but for me at first I was kind of wondering if I was going to enjoy this read because it all seemed a little “too” planned out.

I don’t want to give away anything because well I hate spoilers but I will say that when they get to the house that she has set up with a ‘prison’ in the basement for herself, she walks in and says okay. He then locks her in and walks away. I mean I instantly had thought “Well that isn’t much of a capture if she just walked in willingly and didn’t even pretend to fight like she was actually being captured.” I wouldn’t say I had lost interest in the story but it was starting to drift down the road of disappointment at that point. Because I was expecting something all together different.

Now, don’t let that disappoint you. I had a friend that did read it tell me they didn’t like that it was all planned out a little too much. I honestly believe for it to work out well you have to 1) trust the person 2) have your boundaries (limits) 3) TRUST THE PERSON.  Well things change… at about 20% into the story things take a turn and I have to say that I was instantly drawn in and wanted to know more, wanted to know what was going to happen and how things would play out from there on.

One of the things I did enjoy VERY much was reading a book about a guy who has never done any BDSM but is willing to try to help out a girl he used to date and still cares about but things just didn’t work out for them in the past. It is the FIRST book I have read that is about a guy doing any form of BDSM for the FIRST time. Everything he is doing he has seen online and the one thing that I was instantly drawn to is how it affected him. To read about a man doing things that in his mind,  are wrong,  not okay and not ‘normal’ yet it did things to him. Made him feel things that in his mind he knew should be wrong but he wanted more. She is another, she has never submitted to anyone. It’s something they are learning together. Learning they enjoy it a little more than maybe they ever thought they would?!

“Did every man have some version of a monster inside him, deep down? Maybe we just needed the right circumstances to set it loose?”

“Odd, how the mind changes. The perverse and kinky becomes acceptable. An insult became a compliment…”

In most books I have read it is the submissive that is learning for  the first time that it is something they want and need. They also end up with a man who is an experienced Dominant. So this was something different to read and overall it was a good read. It does lean a little more on the S&M side. I can say that I used to not understand the draw to it but after reading a few books that explained it well, I understood why a submissive would desire pain. I got a few things here and there on why the Dominant men needed to give pain. This one, it doesn’t really explain why he desires it so much, it is more along the lines of learning for the first time how enjoyable an orgasm is. He is learning that he likes things that he never would have thought he would and all he wants to do now is sit and ‘play’ with this new found desire.

I can honestly say that I was not completely sold on the capture part of it so much because that to me was a bit lacking in that area. It felt more like an agreement between two people to try out BDSM for a specific amount of time and there is no ending it until that time was up. She didn’t have a safeword… that was one of the things that made me think, okay now if you were in fact captured you wouldn’t have one now would you? So there were a couple things that did have that captured feel to it. The dark side of this story was mostly in part to the thoughts that are going through his head. There are a few things that some people may find disturbing. I personally did not. It is the first that I have read that did have any kind of needle play. I would love to believe that if I wanted to have my husband try some stuff he could be that good that fast for the first time but when it comes down to it I read for the fiction not the reality! 🙂 Everyone has to start somewhere, some people are ‘self taught’ and I have to say the internet is wonders for research, then there is Fetlife. Which you got to be careful with in reality because it is pretty much fb for the kink world. Some are on there to lurk, some to learn, some to teach, others can be predators. So be safe on there!

I did enjoy the back and forth from the point of views I will say that I have become a fan of first person writing. I enjoyed reading their parts, in all reality I kind of wish it was all in Klaus’ point of view. I think for me his mind was much more interesting. I liked seeing how he thought and how those darker thoughts would take over. BUT that might be because I am just one of those people who is a fan of the dark.

Just know that this book may not be for everyone but if you are a fan of BDSM it might be something you would enjoy. Everyone likes something different so some will love, like, and not like it. Either way… Happy Reading!

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

