Review ~ Darker After Midnight by Lara Adrian

12042279

 

Title: Darker After Midnight

Author: Lara Adrian

Series: Midnight Breed #10

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

 
In the dark of night, a blood war escalates within the hidden world of the Breed. After existing in secret for many long centuries, maintaining a fragile peace with the humans who walk beside them unaware, a single act of retaliation has put the entire vampire nation at risk of discovery. It falls to the Order–a cadre of Breed warriors pledged to protect their own and humankind alike–to stop Dragos, the power-mad vampire at the center of the conflict, before his push for domination can explode into catastrophe.

At the center of the Order’s quest is Sterling Chase, once a morally rigid enforcer of Breed law, now a warrior fallen from grace, whose biggest battle is the one he wages against his own savage nature. With addiction beckoning him toward eternal darkness, Chase’s path to redemption has never seemed more out of reach. But when his eyes meet those of Tavia Fairchild, a beautiful witness who identifies him at the scene of a mission gone terribly wrong, Chase finds himself drawn to the woman–and convinced she is something much more than she seems.

Pulled into a vortex of intrigue and danger she can neither resist nor understand, Tavia is uncertain whom to trust. And while everything sane and logical warns her against getting close to Chase, she cannot deny that the handsome, deeply haunted male stirs something primal and ravenous within her. But even as she surrenders to her cravings, nothing can prepare her for the shattering truth of who–and what–she truly is.

As the Order’s enemy mobilizes for the battle of the ages, Dragos and his Minions unleashing a hell on Earth like nothing ever seen before, Chase and Tavia are thrust into the heart of the violence. With time running out and the streets running red with the blood of innocent lives, both Breed and human, together Chase and Tavia must find a way to defeat Dragos once and for all–or die trying

Review

This is the one that I looked forward to for a long time. I loved Chase from the minute that I read about him. I wanted his story to come earlier but I understand why it had to take time to get to. My heart hurts for him. I was so upset over how he was handling things. I didn’t et why he felt like he had no family when the order is his family.

He is fighting demons and bloodlust. There is so much going on now with being so close to getting to Dragos. We meet Tavia in Deeper Than Midnight and I knew the minute that we met her that she has to be a breedmate. Well, there is more to it than that. There is SO much more to this whole story than what anyone would think. I know for me it was a complete surprise.

Chase goes off the deep end and the Order can’t find him, they are hoping that he isn’t Rouge but that is the only thing that they can think. They don’t want to write him off, but he would have to work his ass off to prove that he is still a part of the order. He proves that he is willing to do what he has to to protect the Order. That is how he ends up giving himself up to Law Enforcement at the end of Deeper Than Midnight. I couldn’t wait to start this book. I wondered how things would turn out and just how Chase would get out of the predicament that he ended up in.

He tries to explain to Tavia when he sees her at the police station what is going on and to warn her about Dragos. All things go downhill after that. He is off grid with the Order and decides to take things among himself to take down Dragos on his own. That is what his plan is, now if that is how things play out… Well, you will have to read to know for sure. 🙂

The steamy was oh so steamy in this one. The first time we get to see Chase go out and have sex it was hot, so I was looking forward to see how the sex would be in this one and I would have to say that I was not disappointed. I enjoyed this book probably more than most but like I had said I was looking forward to this one for a long time. I am so glad that things worked out and I was not left upset with how things played out. This one I thought was a good one. I was like YES!

I see there is another out and I am curious to see where things will go. I mean we got a book for all the guys in the order… So off I go. 🙂

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

