Reveiw ~ The Never List by Koethi Zan

16158525

Title: The Never List

Author: Kan

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

The most relentless, deeply disturbing thriller writer since Jeffery Deaver and Gillian Flynn

For years, best friends Sarah and Jennifer kept what they called the “Never List”: a list of actions to be avoided, for safety’s sake, at all costs. But one night, against their best instincts, they accept a cab ride with grave, everlasting consequences. For the next three years, they are held captive with two other girls in a dungeon-like cellar by a connoisseur of sadism.

Ten years later, at thirty-one, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life, living as a virtual recluse under a new name, unable to come to grips with the fact that Jennifer didn’t make it out of that cellar. Now, her abductor is up for parole and Sarah can no longer ignore the twisted letters he sends from jail.

Finally, Sarah decides to confront her phobias and the other survivors—who hold their own deep grudges against her. When she goes on a cross-country chase that takes her into the perverse world of BDSM, secret cults, and the arcane study of torture, she begins unraveling a mystery more horrifying than even she could have imagined.

A shocking, blazingly fast read, Koethi Zan’s debut is a must for fans of Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and S.J. Watson.

Review

 

Okay, so to start off, let me just say I am not a big fan of when people compare books to another book. It may have some similarities, but at the same time it may turn people away because of that alone. Just as people would think “Oh, if you like this book you will like that book.” Others may think… “Yeah, I didn’t like that book so I am not going to bother reading this one.” Anywho… I have not read any books by the authors that this one is being compared to so I had no preconceived ideas. 

I liked this read. I was drawn in and wanted to know where things were going to go. We know that Sarah and her best friend Jennifer are taken, no matter how hard they try to avoid anything bad happening to them. This book is about the fact that Sarah gets away and the man who took her is up for parole. She is asked to go and speak at his hearing to try to keep him locked up behind bars. She is getting these letters from him while he is in prison, but the last one she gets spikes her interest. She starts in on her own little investigation. 

That alone, I know happens from time to time because law enforcement may not have the opportunity or availability to look into things as fast as a person who has nothing else going on and can’t stop thinking about things. She takes off and starts asking questions. Now I will say that there were moments that had me so sucked in because I wanted to know what was going to happen and what she was going to find out. But at the same time I did think in the back of my mindREALLY? How can she do all this alone and how can the FBI agent, she talks to from time to time just pass on information he knows he shouldn’t knowing she is putting herself in harms way. I know for a fact that would not happen. They are not allowed to do that, if by chance things slip out I would think that he would have someone with her if he knew she was digging. And well he knew.

So there were twists and turns and I some I just knew were coming. Others, though I didn’t see at all. I was sucked in there towards the end that I couldn’t put it down because I needed to know what was going to happen. I understand this is just a book, but there were moments that I had to just roll my eyes and wonder why they would do some of the things they did. I mean, come on! THINK! But I guess that is part of the thing that drew me in. 

It was a good suspense read and I enjoyed it. 

But just a fair warning… It is a little on the darker side and more taboo, I suppose. I know for people who don’t read books with kidnapping and forced brain washing and what not may find this dark and taboo. But reading some of the books I have, this is not that dark and I don’t find it taboo at all. But it was still good, I thought. 

I would love to read a book about everything that happened while she was captured. Day in and day out.  That to me would be a dark read

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: