Review ~ Breaking the Rules & Bloom by Kate Belle

17242527

 

Title: Breaking The Rules

Author: Kate Belle

Series: Random Romance #1

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

The first in a series of erotic novellas, featuring different women whose lives are changed by Ramon Mendez, a handsome, charismatic lover…

Grace is a beautiful woman in complete control of her world. A long time ago she chose a career – as Associate Professor of Social Science – over children and marriage, and has never regretted it.

Then Ramon Mendez walks into her office.

Ramon is about to commence his PhD, a work on erotic literature, and from the outset there is something about him that makes Grace’s blood run hot.

Aware of the need to maintain her professional reputation, she rejects his subtle advances, but he persists. And during their intimate supervision sessions, her defences start to crumble.

For Ramon’s ‘work’ is to expose desires within Grace she never knew existed…

NOVELLA

17242833

 

Title: Bloom

Author: Kate Belle

Series: Random Romance #2

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

The second in a series of erotic novellas, each featuring different women whose lives are changed by Ramon Mendez, a handsome, charismatic lover of women…

Thirty-six-year-old Emma’s life looks as perfect as could be. She loves her straight-laced husband Gary, who has given her three beautiful children and a secure life. But something is missing in her marriage. Gary hardly notices her anymore and she feels frumpy and invisible.

Her friend, Lisa, talks her into joining a social boot camp class at the local gym. Emma immediately recognizes their instructor as the gorgeous runner she sees each evening while walking her dog in the park. He introduces himself as Ramon Mendez. In spite of herself Emma is besotted.

Before long her mind is filled with guilty fantasies of him. One evening, when things at home have become too much to bear, she bumps into him alone in the park. An opportunity presents itself and no one need ever know. Ramon promises and delivers everything that’s missing from her marriage – passion, romance and excitement – but Emma must discover if they are the things she really wants.

NOVELLA

Review

These were a cute read. It was also quick.

I will say that I just didn’t connect with Ramon as much as I was hoping I would. I wanted to like him and thought that things would end differently in the first book, but when I got to the second book I thought, okay maybe this will end how I expect, no not so much. He is like the modern day Don Juan. He is out to provide his services to awaken women’s sexual pleasure as well as make them realize what they want out of a relationship. NOW that being saidI just didn’t get sucked in as much as I was thinking I would.

I thought of the first book (Breaking the Rules) hey, they are two single of legal age why not screw around and have some fun. If you are with a guy who seems to know exactly what they want it as well as seeming to know exactly what that particular woman’s body can do as well as what it wants. I mean, could you imagine??? I would make an appointment with him! But when it all comes down to it, he really is nothing more than a man whore. He just wants sex with no commitment and that’s what he does. I almost felt like he took advantage of these women. He looks at them finds their weakness and then pounces. I think that would be the reason I was not so drawn in. Not unless I got to see the consequences of those actions.

The second book, (Bloom) well, what can I say. I know that MANY women go through exactly what Emma was going through having kids and just feeling a disconnect with your own life, as well as feeling undesirable.

NOW, I think for me, I liked that one less because I am not a fan of cheating. I don’t dislike a book on that alone, but when there is really no reason for a woman to cheat. All she has to do is talk to her husband. She doesn’t though. Instead, she sleeps with another man. But I know that is how most affairs start. The new attention is intoxicating. I just wasn’t a fan of the second one as much as I wanted to be.  I think it might have been even interesting to have him be a sex therapist for the two of them together. That might have been a better spin on things. Because, well I don’t think she should have cheated. Then he does his normal “satisfy” then leave and tell her she will now be happy in her marriage for the most part. I was just a bit at a loss as far as that goes.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

