Review ~ Law Man by Kristen Ashley

17924005

 

Title: Law Man

Author: Kristen Ashley

Series: Dream Man #3

 

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

 

Love is just around the corner . . . 

Sweet, shy Mara Hanover is in love with her neighbor. For four years, she has secretly watched her dream man from afar. Handsome police detective Mitch Lawson is way out of her league. She’s a girl from the wrong side of the tracks, and there’s no way a guy like Mitch would want anything to do with her. But when Mara has a leaky faucet that she can’t fix, it’s Mitch who comes to her rescue.

Mitch has been eyeing his beautiful neighbor for a long time. He jumps at the chance to help her, and soon their formerly platonic relationship gets very hot and heavy. But when Mara gets a disturbing phone call from her cousin’s kids, she gets pulled back into the life she’s tried so hard to leave behind. Can the hot law man convince Mara to let go of her past-and build a future with him?

Review

So I have only read one other book by Kristen Ashley and I enjoyed it for the most part it was the first book in the rock chick series, I wasn’t so sucked in that I continued reading it I figured I would get back to it eventually. Well, I haven’t just yet. I saw this one and all I thought was HOW could you go wrong with a hot cop!? I am usually not one to read out of order when it comes to book series. But I have also read that her books can be read as a stand alone if you want. I honestly didn’t want to go back and read the first two books in the series so I figured I would start this one and if I were completely confused and lost on this one I would go back and read the first two. Thankfully, I was not lost at all. Not in the storyline.  Now with that said…

I started this book looking forward to it because I have not read a lot of hot cop reads. I jumped in and can honestly say that I was almost just as ready to put it down as soon as I started it. I didn’t because I was hoping it would get better and for the most part it did. The storyline and concept was good. That was the only reason that I can say I continued reading it. I did a lot of eye rolling and saying “are you serious” while I read. I should have known that was when I should have put the book down, but I can honestly say I do not like to not finish a book it has to take quite a bit to make me not finish a book.

The positives I thoughtThere is a hot cop, so that was a plus. There were white trash family members I enjoyed reading about and seeing where that went. Because, well I always enjoy reading about people acting a fool thinking they know everything. There are also two adorable kids that I loved. They were there in the story for most of it so seeing these two littles also was a plus. Seeing how things work out with them. There is a douch or as she says “assclown” in there also (the kids’ father who is also Mara’s cousin). I did love Mitch and how he stepped up on so many different things. He is what I would say a “dream man” should be.

Now on to what I thought was the negative for this one… There was just too much on some parts that I couldn’t get over, I just found quite a few things annoying in here and well it for the most part was ALL Mara! I can say without any doubt that I did not like this chick at all whatsoever. Like the way she looks at peopleon this stupid rating scaleand I am guessing it is supposed to be a 1-10 scale…

“I also know that my neighbor Detective Mitch Lawson was at least a Ten, maybe an Eleven, so to give a fair score I put him at a definite Ten Point Five.”

You read this and think okayso he is HAWT, not just hot but HAWT. (lets face it there IS a difference!) but then you continue to read…

Fours to Sixes gravitated to each other..Ones to Threes gravitated to each other..”

Okay and although YES this seems to be true in reality. Because, well I have told my husband that, but not numbers haha I have told him usually you see hot people with hot people and ugly people with ugly people, if there is a mix that is only because money and/or power is involved. You can read that and think well I don’t understand why this would be an issue. It is true. YES, yes it is. But it isn’t just mentioned once, twice, three times or even twenty times. It is mentioned SO many freaking times throughout the book. YES, I get it Mitch is a Ten point Five and Mara thinks she is a Two point Five but do I need to be reminded a total of at least 40 times throughout the book?? It was just a bit excessive, and that is just for the two of them forget about when she meets new people (insert eye roll).

I wanted to love this book, but I just couldn’t. Reason being. I HATED Mara! She acted like a teenager a little girl who needed to be told constantly that she is pretty and worthy. Mitch was this man who had his shit together and I would honestly say that I would think that he would want a woman who has her shit together. But instead he falls for a girl who needs to be praised constantly because she doesn’t believe that a “Ten point Five can be with a Two point Five” (sheesh).  I have never felt as though a book was so repetitive to a point, I felt like just when it was starting to get good Mara would remind me why I hated her.

I also felt like the book was pulled out way too long. I understand that we were learning about the relationship between Mara and Mitch but do I need to know who is picking up the kids, who is watching them till she gets off work? I just felt like there were things that could have been left out and it wouldn’t have hurt the storyline at all.

I think with this book you love it or not and I didn’t personally love it the way I was hoping. But I know that there are people who absolutely LOVE Kristen Ashley and her books. I have said it before and I will say it again. Not everyone has the same reading experience when reading a book. I am so glad that she has people who absolutely love her books. Maybe I will find one of her books that I feel that way about.

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

