Review ~ Somebody’s Angel by Kallypso Masters

17207097

Title: Somebody’s Angel

Author: Kallypso Masters

Series: Rescue Me #5

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

When Marc d’Alessio first rescued the curvaceous and spirited Italian Angelina Giardano at the Masters at Arms Club, he never expected her to turn his safe, controlled life upside down and pull at his long-broken heartstrings. Months later, the intense fire of their attraction still rages, but something holds him back from committing to her completely. Worse, secrets and memories from his past join forces to further complicate his relationships with family, friends, and his beautiful angel.

Angelina cannot give all of herself to someone who hides himself from her. She loves Marc, the BDSM world he brought her into, and the way their bodies respond to one another, but she needs more. Though she destroyed the wolf mask he once wore, only he can remove the mask he dons daily to hide his emotions. In a desperate attempt to break through his defences and reclaim her connection to the man she loves, she attempts a full frontal assault that sends him into a fast retreat, leaving her nobody’s angel once again.

Marc finds that running to the mountains no longer gives him solace but instead leaves him empty and alone. Angelina is the one woman worth the risk of opening his heart. Will he risk everything to become the man she deserves and the man he wants to be?

Review

I enjoy this series. I love everything about it. Mostly due to the fact that it is so realistic. My husband was in the Marine Corps so I love that aspect of it as well. Now this book. I will say that I was curious about the relationship between Marc and Angel because we didn’t really get their HEA in Nobody’s Angel. We did get to see that there was something going on between them in Nobody’s Perfect though. I am so happy that we finally get to the bottom of it all.

This book was a nice long one. There are some parts that took place in Nobody’s Angel so we get to see what exactly happened with them during those times. I will say that I did get frustrated with Marc a time or two because he just would keep avoiding things. It all kind of makes sense in the end. I wasn’t sure what to expect with this one, but when I finally got to that point I just said…”Noooo” under my breath. I can say that I didn’t see that coming. Then later to find out more. I kind of thought that maybe there was more to it than what was shown to us about his issues, but all in all, it was good.

I have seen that some feel that it was too long and that it just pulled out, but I didn’t feel that at all. I loved the length. We were able to get some of Damian and Savahana as well as Adam and Karla. I think that is what I love most about this series, yes each book is supposed to be about the one couple and give you their story, but I miss the others in the series and we get more than just a little cameo in this one.

Some may feel let down or even disappointed over the fact that there is not a lot of bdsm scenes in this one. But for me it didn’t take away from anything and that is probably because we do get a lot of scenes with Angel and Marc in book 2 so I didn’t feel left out. I was so drawn into the other things that were happening in this one. It had me sucked in and I wanted to know what was going on in Marc’s head. There is one scene in particular that Marc is a part of that was so intense. But it did leave me with questions that I have no doubt will be answered later in the series. Mostly about Adam and what it stirred up in him.

Did I wish that there were a few more play scenes? Yes. But like I said before, I didn’t personally feel that took away from the story. Both Marc and Angel did get a little frustrating with the running. I just wanted to grab both of them and lock them in a room. 🙂  For me, the fact that there is a realism about this series makes me enjoy it more than anything.

I was looking forward to Lukes story, but I understand that as a writer, you need to get out what is in your head at that particular time. People who don’t write won’t understand that when a character in your mind is giving you nothing to work with, their story will not come along.  Also, when you have another character that takes over, you have to get their story out before you can move on. I used to not understand that, but I get it now. You will never find me getting upset with a writer for not going about things the way “I” want. I’m not the one writing the books, therefore I really have no say in order, length or how much time in between books. I’m just glad we got another book in the series. 🙂 I am so excited to see how things go with Luke and Cassie when we get their book.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

