Review ~ Entangled by Nikki Jefford

13494086

Title: Entangled

Author: Nikki Jefford

Series: Spellbound #1

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

Two months after dying, seventeen-year-old witch Graylee Perez wakes up in her twin sister Charlene’s body.

Until Gray finds a way back inside her own body, she’s stuck being Charlene every twenty-hour hours. Her sister has left precise instructions on how Gray should dress and behave. Looking like a prep isn’t half as bad as hanging out with Charlene’s snotty friends and gropey boyfriend.

The “normals” of McKinley High might be quick to write her behavior off as post-traumatic stress, but warlock Raj McKenna is the only person who suspects Gray has returned from the dead.

Now Gray has to solve the mystery of her death and resurrection and disentangle herself from Charlene’s body before she disappears for good.

***Entangled is a young adult paranormal fantasy romance suitable for ages 15 and up.***

Review

So like almost every other book I have read, I didn’t read the synopsis before starting this so when Gray wakes up to find out that she is in her twin’s body and has actually died. It threw me for a minute and made things interesting. This is part of the reason I like to not read the synopsis. For me, I would have probably not been so pulled into the story had I already known that was coming.

I felt like the story was a little slow at first, but it did pick up and was cute and did get better. I liked watching how things played out I also will have to say one of the cons that I had was the fact that she is a witch yet she didn’t use much magic. It just seemed like she used it from time to time. I would think that a teenager with magical powers would use them often. She did use it just not as often as I would have expected. I know that the book is in Grays perspective, but I really would have loved to have it from both her and her sisters, since they are twins.

It is a book that when my daughter gets older I think she would enjoy reading. Like I had said I thought it was a cute read. I did feel like it was missing something I am not sure exactly what it was but there was something. Maybe the connection between her and her mother?? I’m not sure, but it just felt like it was missing something.

I liked Raj, and the twist that happens, well, I kind of saw it coming. I just felt like the author didn’t do enough to connect the characters. I felt like we just have the sister as an idea. We don’t get much of anything from her other then she hates some chick for messing with her boyfriend. That she is materialistic, and vain. That is pretty much all we know about her. We don’t get much other than that, and that is just from notes really. I just felt like there could have been a better connection made between the mother and both her girls, as well as with the sisters. Gray has one good friend and we only get a small piece of her. I just wish we would have gotten more of a connection between the main character and the people around her. Nolanwell he went from zero to sixty which was strange but whatever, he is a teen boy. Raj, we get more of him than any other character in the book (besides Gray) but I still felt like I didn’t really know him. Or her for that matter. Just felt as though the character development could have been better.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

