Review ~ Raw by Belle Aurora

18468559

Title: Raw

Author: Belle Aurora

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

***Author Note: This is not a love story. This is a story of love gone wrong.***

Growing up the way I did, you’d think I’d be more screwed up than what I actually am.

Soon as I turned sixteen, I left that bump in the road I called home and took my chances on the street.

Best decision I ever made.

Now, at the age of twenty six, I’m educated, employed and damn good at my job.

My friends have become my family. Like me, they know what it’s like to grow up unloved.

But the saying is true.

The world makes way for those who know where they are going.

That’s me.

I know where I’m going and I’ll get there eventually. On my own terms and at my own pace.

But then there’s him.

I feel his eyes on me. I see him hiding in plain sight. He watches me.

He makes me feel.

It’s unconventional.

But it’s real.

I’m sure you’re wondering how a person falls in love with their stalker.

So am I.

This isn’t a story.

This is my life.

Review

This one for me was not amazing. I feel like the only one who didn’t absolutely fall in love with this story.

The story as a whole was good and it had great potential to be great, but I just didn’t feel the connection between the characters. I felt like they were trying too hard to want each other. It was just, I don’t know how to explain it. I just didn’t feel it. I knew from the get go who he was and the connection there but for her… to have a stalker and then to be fine with everything that happened and just automatically fall or care like that?! I mean, don’t get me wrong, I understand that it is fiction, but I like for it to have some realism to it at some points. That was a miss for me.

I liked Twitch for the most part, but with him also I just felt like he was trying too hard to be “hard” and dominant. I just caught myself rolling my eyes a few times when he would talk to Lexi. I think what kind of threw me was when they would “talk” to themselves. I think it could have been left out, it wasn’t often enough, but enough to irritate me.

So many loved this book and with thousands of 5 stars I jumped on it. I was seeing it all over and thought, okay lets give it a go. I wanted to love it, I really did. I just didn’t. I know that not everyone will agree on a book and I am okay with that. I totally understand that there will be books that I read that I will not care for and MANY others will. That is what I love about books! I can love one and not stop talking about it and a friend can read the same book and feel absolutely nothing for it. This was kind of like that for me. I didn’t feel much.

One thing I can’t stand about a book is when the girl talks about how “huge” the guys penis is. I mean, come on. He has a penis, it is pierced, (positive) but it’s a penis. I wish someone would talk bout their average sized man! I mean it’s more realistic! Another thing I didn’t like about him was he was so damn bipolar. I mean I get he grew up on the streets so he had to be “hard” and not give a shit about anythingbut he was so back and forth and up and down. I think if she would have written in that he had some mental issue, it would have fit well. Maybe it is because we didn’t get any back story on him really. The story is written in two perspectives. Lexi and Twitch. We get a back story on Lexi, how she ended up where she is and all that stuff. Him, not so much. I mean I understand the author may think she does a good job at keeping who he is a secret until he says, who he is, but not really so she might as well have told us what all happened to him. Hell, she could have done it without saying exactly who he was.

There was one part that did surprise me, he did have one secret that I would say was pretty big. As a woman I would have to say that if that happened to me and I found outThere is NO WAY in HELL that I would have continued to date or even see or give a shit about him. It isn’t like she was married to the guy, or been with him for years. I just, I don’t know. And the Asian chick that works with him!??? What is the point of her???? I honestly didn’t see a point for her at all what so ever. At least Happy had a purpose, she didn’t. I wanted to put it down, but I am not a fan of not finishing a book. There were a few reasons why, Lexi drove me nuts. She was such a piece of work. I mean, how stupid do you have to be????? There were moments in the book that were so obvious as to who this guy was that she is sleeping with and has NO clue who he is at all what so ever! (never mind that being an issue when trying to start some type of relationship with someone) If it was just a few nights in the sack, fine don’t even ask his name… But that’s not what she was doing.

I continued to read it because I wanted to see what happened. Because so many said OMG that ending…. to be honest. I saw it coming….I knew what was going to happen. It is very similar to another book I had read a while back. The first one I read that ended that way and I loved it! It was amazing. And I am sure that many loved it because of that ending, but for me it was just okay. Then to look and look and see if maybe there will be another book. Because SOOO many want a book 2. I looked at her goodreads as well as her fb page and tried to see if there was any mention. All I could find was a big fat NOTHING! People posting on her author page SO many posting just asking if there is going to be a book 2. I am not saying that she is wrong. But all she has to do is respond. Yes, I am or No, I am not. So that is another thing that was kind of ehh for me. She has so many consumers and fans and I have not seen any response to her fans on what is going to happen. I can honestly say that I thought it was a first book to maybe a duo?? Because the ending the last three sentences to be exact… Leads one to believe that there will be more. But it has not been confirmed or denied from what I have seen. But I didn’t spend a whole lot of time looking 🙂

If you think this is a dark readit absolutely is not. I have read dark and this is far from it. There are some parts that would maybe put it as an edgy read, but that would be as far as I would go. There is one sex scene in particular that was surprisingly pretty good. I was wondering how it would pan out since it is my absolute favorite type of sex scene. So I wasn’t completely disappointed there.

This review has ended up way longer than I had expected. Overall, it was an okay read, had great potential but fell short for me. I felt like these were people who were acting the parts, not people who were actually living it. If the ending of this book is the first you have read like it, I can completely understand why it got so many high ratings, on that alone but it wasn’t my first, there is a bit of an issue that I did have with that also because I could not figure out how it all happened. I mean there were other things that were taking placehow was that possible??

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

