Review ~ Hero by Leighton Del Mia

20262477

 

Title: Hero

Author: Leighton Del Mia

Series: Hero #1

bea11-addtogoodreadsbadge

10 synopsis

Calvin Parish
They call me Hero.
I defend.
I protect.
I ask for nothing in return, and that makes me good.
Doesn’t it?

That which makes me the ultimate predator also feeds dark impulses I’ve learned to control—until I bring her too close. For years I’ve watched her from afar, but what started out as duty has become obsession.

Cataline Ford
I work hard.
I play by the rules.
I’m content.
My scars are quiet and invisible, and that keeps me hidden.
Doesn’t it?

One fateful walk home, I’m taken by someone I didn’t know I should fear. Captive and afraid, nobody will tell me why I’m confined to this hauntingly beautiful mansion. I’m given everything; I have nothing. He takes what he needs from me, and for that I hate him. But I might have loved him once.

And just because you’re reading this doesn’t mean I survive him.

“Escape is now her singular obsession, the need for it all but physiological. But freedom is the only thing I can’t give her, because I have an obsession of my own: her safety. Or, maybe now, just her.” 

HERO is a dual POV, standalone erotic novel. WARNING: meant for a mature audience due to dark themes including non- or dubious-consent.

Review

Wellwhere to start with this. I heard that this one was a great read by one of the fellow book blogs I follow. I have to say that after reading this one I would have to disagree with them. I did not care for this one for a few different reasons. It had potential to be a good one. I thought this was going to be amazing. For me it just fell short. Some have said it was dark, and for most it just may be. It does have that dark aspect to it because Cataline is kidnapped. She is held against her will but then before you know it she is all over her captor. 

Now I am not a big fan of nicknames when I don’t quite get them. He calls her sparrow, and to be honest, it got annoying. So there is a dark feel to this one there is also a dominant feel to him as well. He can be an ass at times, but he has his reasons. He doesn’t want to talk about himself and not give out too much information. 

I couldn’t figure out what his angle was to be honest. I kind of still don’t get it becauseit doesn’t explain HER connection. I mean I get the connection between the two of them, but at the same time, all I could think was real? That’s it? There is nothing more? I think it could have been awesome had there been more to it. Something deeper. Maybe it’s just me, I think it could have just been more. 

This is the first book I ever read that had that “Supper Hero” feel to it. There is the whole mask he wears to conceal his identity (Batman type of feel) then there is the fact that he wears glasses when he is out but takes them off at home (Superman feel). So yeah, I wasn’t expecting that I thought this man just went out and did what he felt was right to keep his town safe. There is more to it though. 

The sex, well the sex is good. I think that for me was one of the things that was a positive. 🙂 The author did a great job at making a gritty read as far as the sex goes. So kudos there. It made me continue through and want to read more. 

I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about the different points of views. I have read other books that do this and I wasn’t a big fan of them. In this one I think that the fact that we get to see in his head may have hurt the story. When I read a book that is supposed to be dark I don’t want to be in the mind of the captor, if by chance we are; I want to the dark and twisted way of their thinkings. I think this could have kept that darker feel to it had there not been his side. It makes it much darker if you can hate the guy through the book. If she wanted to put his point, maybe an epilogue from his head only?? That is just my thoughts though. 

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

