Review ~ Crow’s Row by Julie Hockley

21826031

Title: Crow’s Row

Author: Julie Hockley

Series: Crow’s Row #1

f2350-goodreads-badge-add-38px113

10 synopsis

For college student Emily Sheppard, the thought of spending a summer alone in New York is much more preferable than spending it in France with her parents.

Just completing her freshman year at Callister University, Emily faces a quiet summer in the city slums, supporting herself by working at the campus library.
During one of her jogs through the nearby cemetery while visiting her brother Bill’s grave, Emily witnesses a brutal killing—and then she blacks out. When Emily regains consciousness, she realizes she’s been kidnapped by a young crime boss and his gang.

She is hurled into a secret underworld, wondering why she is still alive and for how long.

Held captive in rural Vermont, she tries to make sense of her situation and what it means. While uncovering secrets about her brother and his untimely death, Emily falls in love with her very rich and very dangerous captor, twenty- six-year-old Cameron. She understands it’s a forbidden love and one that won’t allow her to return to her previous life.

But love may not be enough to save Emily when no one even knows she is missing.

Review

I read this one two years ago and I fell in absolute love with it. It was the very first that I read that left me with a huge book hangover. That ending, wow. I was in awe of this one and it just had me at a loss. I loved it! I couldn’t wait for the next one, the down side to that was the author was working on it slowly. I’m a huge book lover so I was okay with that. I have thousands of books that I would like to read so filling that time was not going to be an issue. In reality, most books when they are part of a series, the next books usually come out once a year. I looked and saw that it originally came out in 2011 so I’m sure that many who read it when it came out were probably getting frustrated because in year 2013 there was still no book 2. I can completely understand that frustration. I looked online and found out the author had just had a second baby. Anyone who has had a child understands how demanding a newborn infant is forget the fact that she had another that was still a toddler at the time. I looked back and realized that I never left a review on this one. I got an email and was told that if I was interested the Author wanted to send me a copy of the new revised version of this one as well as the second in the series. How could I pass that up. This was a book that stuck with me for so long.

I jumped right in to re-read this book and I remember the main idea of the book, but I realized that I forgot a lot of the little details. I looked forward to reading it again. I had read that there was a little extra added, but, if you purchased the first edition you don’t have to purchase the second, you won’t feel lost thinking that you missed something huge in the first book. I fell in love with this story all over again. I have so many books that I want to read that I usually don’t go back and re-read but I need to add this to my home library, because I will read them again at some point also I lend out books to friends and family when I feel like people need to read a great story.

To be honest I wasn’t all that sure if I was going to like the book I hadn’t read many that were like this one. I started it and it didn’t take long for me to get pulled into it. I was curious as to what the deal with Emily was, a girl who comes from money, living on her own in college in a not so great area?? Something was off. I wanted to know more. Then she witnesses something, something that will change her life completely.

She learns things about her brother she never knew, things that may change the way some people see their family. She wants to hate what is going on, she wants to run and get away from her kidnappers but there is more to the story. There is much more than she ever realized. She is in the middle of an underworld that she never had any part in and she doesn’t know what to do. She starts to have feelings toward the guy who took her, but she wants her old life back. A life where she was oblivious to all this that is going on around her.

There are more people involved in this book than just “the boss” I personally was instantly drawn to Rocco “the kid” and Griff. They over all, I thought, were important people to Em. They gave her some sort of reality and grounded her in the crazy world she was thrown into. She felt a connection to both of them. I could feel it as I read it also. I loved Rocco he was such a sweet kid.

I loved the go go go of this book. I will say that I had wanted a little more romance in the story, but I think it went well the way it was. There is a lot of action, a lot of angst and that ending!? Wow, what a cliffhanger!

If you are looking for something that has you on edge, guessing what is to come next this is a good one. SO excited for the second in the series! 🙂 To finally get a fix and some type of conclusion to this story.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

