Review ~ Pins by Jessica McHugh

16045483

Title: Pins

Author: Jesica McHugh

f2350-goodreads-badge-add-38px113

10 synopsis

Telemarketing is a drag, and serving jobs are exhausting. Luckily, strip clubs are always looking for new blood. 

Eva “Birdie” Finch is fed up with the slim pickings in local employment, and the gentleman’s club/bowling alley called PINS seems to be the only option left. But learning how to strip for strangers isn’t Birdie’s only obstacle, especially when fellow dancers start turning up dead. 

From Jessica McHugh, author of the steampunk adventure “The Sky: The World” and the bestselling psychological thriller “Rabbits in the Garden”, PINS is a post-modern coming of age thriller certain to titillate as much as terrify with a candid look at a dancer trying to find herslef on a blood-drenched stage.

Review

Okay, I wasn’t expecting this to be what it turned out to be. I have said it many times before I am not a reader of the blurbs.

I will say that I was pleasantly surprised! I was expecting this to be about sex and with the cover I thought it would be an erotic book. I was wrong, there was so much more to it.

This was a book that had me pulled in not that long after starting it. I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to know more, needed to know what was going to happen.

So in a nutshell Birdie needs a new job. She decides to go out and try her hand at stripping. Things are going well for her and she is actually enjoying herself, but before you know it bad things start happening. Now before I get into that I will have to say that the thought of a bowling alley / strip joint named Pins was awesome!! 🙂

So girls around her start being murdered and in horrible ways. There is a lot that goes on, there are drugs, abuse, suspense and it is a little on the darker side which is always a plus for me. I want to say so much about this, but don’t want to give anything away, but there are things that come up that just make it all a big ball of questions… I am usually pretty good at guessing a little what might be coming. With this one I didn’t see quite a bit of the stuff that happened.

If you have an issue with drug use, this will not be for you. There is quite a bit of it. I don’t count smoking weed as drug use even though it is. There is more that is used in this one. It had me surprised and on edge quite a bit. This was a good one!

 

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

