Review ~ Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

18246727

Title: Mud Vein

Author: Tarryn Fisher

f2350-goodreads-badge-add-38px113

10 synopsis

When reclusive novelist Senna Richards wakes up on her thirty-third birthday, everything has changed. Caged behind an electrical fence, locked in a house in the middle of the snow, Senna is left to decode the clues to find out why she was taken. If she wants her freedom, she has to take a close look at her past. But, her past has a heartbeatand her kidnapper is nowhere to be found. With her survival hanging by a thread, Senna soon realizes this is a game. A dangerous one. Only the truth can set her free.

Review

Now many talked about the letter than Tarryn wrote to her readers. If you read that you will know she enjoys messing with people’s heads and if you are looking for a story that will follow the lines of every other romance story you will be very disappointed. That is in part the reason I enjoy reading her stories. They are not like the norm. I know that there are many books out there that can be read that are horror, thriller, mystery, but I can honestly say that I am not usually looking for those. They are fun to find when I am reading my romance books and I come across one that has these little twists.

Now this story… I can honestly say the first thing that came to mind was Saw with a twist. There was something that just had me at a loss I wanted to know more. But at the same time I kind of hated the back flashes of the time before she woke up locked in that house. Without that, you won’t understand why things are the way they are. I can say that I tried to figure out who was behind it all I thought I had it all figured out, I thought I knew who was behind everything just to find out I was wrong.

My least favorite part would have to be when we had to “read” the book her ex wrote about her. I almost put this book down because of that. I didn’t want to read about someone reading a book. I understand that it may have some reason for being there, but personally I didn’t feel like I understood the connection (okay other than the name of the book 🙂 ). Maybe because I was not paying much attention when I was reading over it. I felt like it was an adult talking on Charlie brown wah wah wah. It just lost me at that point. I won’t lie, I did skim through most of that.

The ending. I was looking forward to it because there were so many people posting their “mud vein face” and I was hoping that I would be there with tears in my eyes crying. It just didn’t get to me the way it did to many others. It was a good story. I enjoyed it very much, I liked the darkness to it. I liked that it isn’t my normal “romance”. If you are looking for something differentthis is for you!  Just make sure to read the letter that Tarryn puts at the beginning of the book! That may be a big factor for many.

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

