Review ~ The Collector by Victoria Scott

13449677

Title: The Collector

Author: Victoria Scott

Series: Dante Walker #1

f2350-goodreads-badge-add-38px113
10 synopsis

He makes good girlsbad. 

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collectorand uncover emotions deeply buried.

Review

Now I heard about this one when it came out I LOVED the cover when I saw the cover reveal. I LOVED the teasers I read before the book debuted. BUT when it came out I had so many other books I was reading already that it just got put on my TBR list and I knew I would get to it eventually. I don’t read many YA books, but I do like them from time to time. I wish I would have read this earlier. I enjoyed it very much.

Dante is the kind of guy that is just oozing confidence that you can’t help but like him. He is a bit arrogant, so that is kind of irritatingbut in all honesty, how many of us know a guy like that? We all know someone. 🙂 You know he’s a bad guy and does bad things, but you want things to be different, you want him to be a good guy, you want him to not work for the one he does.

Okay the one issue I did have was the fact that he talked about how good he was at his job. SO that being said if he was as good as he says he is there at the beginning, and believe me he boasts about it throughout the book how great he is. The book would be half the size. Because he would go in, get the job done and that be that. There are things that come up, things that he didn’t see.

I had an idea where some things were going, but some I was absolutely surprised by. I liked the humor. It was good, I thought. As I read YA I always want to find something to pass on to my 15 year old son. I thought that this one might be a good one for him. It is interesting as well as keeping you on your toes and wanting to know what’s next. I didn’t really feel the connection between Dante and Charlie the way I was hoping I would. I wanted to feel that there was something there that I honestly just didn’t feel.

The message though, that is something that made the story awesome. Something that you look for in a YA story. Love, forgiveness, trust, good over evil, heaven and hell etc. There are things that kids do in life growing up and I believe that this book is a good way to explain to teens that what they do now does and can affect their future. The ending was pretty awesome, I thought. 🙂

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

