Review ~ Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

22471294

Title: Black Lies

Author: Alessandra Torre

c9d5d-goodreads-2

10 synopsis

Brant:
Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years.
Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee:
Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.

Review

I have been in a funk lately and when I saw all the hype about this book, just about every other book blog I follow gave it 5+ so I figured maybe this will be able to get me back on my reading. I have been so busy I haven’t had time to really enjoy a good book.

I jumped in and have to say I was not as wowed by this story as everyone else seemed to be. I just wasn’t as pulled in as I thought I would be.

It started slow for me. I wanted it to immediately pull me in and to be honest I don’t have that happen often at all but a girl could hope. I haven’t read a book in a few months so I wanted to be blown away right off the bat. Especially after all the reviews I was reading on this book.

There are moments in the story that we get other points of views and they are not really that long. I had a few moments when it went back to her point of view that I had to start that chapter over because I thought it was still in another persons point of view.

I lost interest at a few points and just put it down to do house cleaning. I had things to get done and that is how I know it didn’t pull me in.

So many were saying it was a mind-fu*$ and that is THE reason I jumped on it because I LOVE a good mind-fu&%.
That didn’t happen for me. I was not even half way through and I already knew what was going on. I knew what the big reveal was going to be. I am usually not that great at figuring things out before hand but this time I was a little disappointed that I was able to. So I felt I didn’t have the OMG moment others had. 😦

Now after finding out that I was correct as to what was going to be revealed I was hoping that we were going to get more on the whole explanation. We got some but not much.  I just wanted it to go into it a little more as to why it all happened, for me though it stopped just short of the “good stuff”.

I will say that I have not read another book that has the same concept so in that alone, I like that it isn’t like anything else that I have read so far.

It does make me want to know about her other books. 🙂

About Momma's Books

Found my new love for books when a good friend sent me the Sookie books and I was stuck in a paranormal state and only wanted that then I came across Shayla Black and read her Wicked Lovers Series which got me into the contemporary romance with a "twist" and since then I have just been a reading fanatic! And LOVE every minute of my escape from reality. View all posts by Momma's Books

Tell me what cha think

