Review – Souls in Peril by Sherry Gammon

DESCRIPTION:

Max Sanchez is the “it” kid at Port Fare High. He’s the star of the baseball team, he’s dating head cheerleader Emma McKay, and he has a throng of wonderful, supportive friends.
JD Miller is the school’s punching bag, verbally and emotionally. He has a loving mother, but her choice in boyfriends is questionable, leaving him a target at home as well as school.
A tragic car accident ends it all for Max when his soul is prematurely removed from his body. The powers that be have asked him to go back to earth temporarily to help classmate JD. Max, always up for a challenge, takes it as a chance to see his beloved Emma again and quickly jumps at what he views as the easy task of helping JD. Max knows with a little cardio he can easily whip the guy into shape, ending all his troubles.
While staying mentally connected to JD, Max’s soul steps into JD’s body. However, Max’s reality is shattered as he enters a world void of love and hope: JD’s world–life as the bullied kid.
Will he survive? Will JD? Did Emma’s love for Max die also? Will Max be able to help these Souls in Peril, or is it all as hopeless as JD believes?

MY THOUGHTS:

If I could rate this book a 10 I would but goodreads as well as amazon will only allow a 5. So it is 5+++++++

I won this book as part of a giveaway and I have to say that if you have a teenager this should be a must read for them. I told my 14-year-old son he WILL be reading this book. It was such an emotional read for me. It took me less then 24 hours to read this book once I started I could not put it down. I am honestly at a loss for words to explain how I feel about this book. But I will try so here I go…

You will be taken on an emotional ride and your heart will hurt more times than not. You will wish you could just jump into the book and just rescue JD. I know I absolutely fell in love with Em she is the sweetest and kindest kid. I can only hope that my children turn out to be like her. I don’t want to scare people and have them think that it is just a “downer” kind of book because yes it has its moments of complete heartache but there are also moments that will make you smile.

As sad as it is, as a fiction book bullying is happening on a daily basis all around us. I think this may help some children see how hurtful and harmful it can be. I am sure some may find it offensive because of some of the actions in the book but I have to say that personally I believe it is very accurate as to how some children react to being bullied (all you need to do is watch the news) as well as how some children act when watching others being bullied.

I cannot speak highly enough of this book I will be telling ALL of my friends and family who have children that they need to purchase this book and have their children read it after they have.

When reading this book I immediately disappeared into their world and when reading, that is all I can hope for. To have a book pull me so far into it that I no longer feel as if I am reading a book, but standing there watching everything play out before me. So when reading it is hard to not be affected by the words that are printed such as:

Will no one befriend me, will no one dare?

Not being is an option that can’t be so wrong.

Yelled at and mocked; Defaced and Ignored.

Your heart goes out to the character; you want to save them, love them, hold them.

I will have to say that this is the second book I have read by Mrs. Gammon and they both have affected me so deep down and emotionally that I cannot just leave it. Yes I have read this book and marked it on my goodreads list as well as on amazon. I have to spread the word of this book. I have emailed my sons freshman English teacher the title of the book as well asking her whom I need to email at the school district office to have them read the book to possibly add it to their required reading list. I cannot see how anyone who reads this book would not be affected by it. It is absolutely AMAZING!


4 responses to “Review – Souls in Peril by Sherry Gammon

Tell me what cha think